My father has become very interested in genealogy lately, which has led him to perusing my grandparents’ collection of photo albums. During one expedition, he found this picture, which he scanned and sent me:

This is a photo of my grandmother, taken sometime in the late 1930s or early 1940s in the Netherlands. I love seeing a picture of my Oma as a child; even more remarkable, though, is that she’s wearing her first knitted sweater, which she made when she was about 10 years old. When I talk to people about my knitting, very frequently fond memories of one’s granny knitting enters the conversation. I don’t have any memories of my Oma knitting during my childhood, so it’s lovely to have evidence of this connection we share, and to remember that knitting is a tradition that crosses borders and generations.

