I had a very crafty morning with KristenMakes and Annie Horn today.

We started with the Morningside Maker’s Market here in Edinburgh, which (among other things) was full of handknitted goods for sale: baby’s caps and booties, lovely feather and fan mohair scarves that were so very light, and chunky flowers paired cleverly with Harris Tweed leaves. The Yarn Yard was there with a garden of amazing yarns; I didn’t buy anything for myself, but Annie Horn bought a fabulous sapphire-blue sock weight that is going to be turned into something stunning.

While I didn’t buy anything at the little market, I did come away inspired, particularly by the muted hues of the Harris Tweed everywhere. Sometimes, just observing the creativity of others in a simple enough pleasure. For example, after hitting the market, we walked to get a cuppa, and our tea pot was wearing this:

I swear, somehow the tea tasted better, with our little flamingo friend.

