I started knitting just around Christmas of last year (2009), which makes for a very convenient anniversary. Like a thoroughbred foal, I’ve taken to a January 1st knitting birthday, so that I can mark my (hopefully many more!) years of knitting accurately.

But, my first year of being a knitter isn’t even over, so I’ve obviously jumped the gun with celebrating! Still, I got to thinking: I have just short of 5 months left to round of this first year, so what would I like to accomplish?

First and foremost, I really, really, really want to knit a pair of socks. As a reminder to myself about how interested I am in learning to knit socks, I purchased Toe-Up Two-at-a-Time Socks by Melissa Morgan-Oakes1 while stateside. I had two skeins of plain gray superwash sock yarn for my trial-and-error pair, and I was very, very keen on decorating my feet with soft socks. And then, of course, I put the book at the bottom of my luggage and promptly forgot about my keen intents. Fail. The book as re-surfaced since I’ve come back to Edinburgh, and especially when winter sets in, and I start to wear two layers of socks when out in the Farm Animal Hospital, I think I’ll appreciate something home-made on my feet.

Speaking of the cold, I’ve been patiently working away at my Manu, which will be woolly and warm and very pretty, but I also have my eye on starting Gwendolyn, from the Fall 2010 Twist Collective. I love that it’s knitted in Aran, which will speed it up compated to my recent DK projects – especially since those cables are going to slow it down quite a bit! But the cables and the hood make this pullover look so warm and cozy, that I hope to finish it before the year is out, so I have it for as much of the winter as possible!

Winter-time also makes me think of lovely fair-isle sweaters (my absolute favorite being a rather festive holiday dress by o w l s designer Kate Davies) and colorwork has been on my to-do list for a long time. I should start small, and I’ve seen very simple projects, like coffee cup warmers, but what I really want is a sweater. Now, I’m no glutton for punishment, so rather than learn colorwork and knit myself a second sweater all before the year is out, I’ve set a far more reasonable goal of knitting a small sample of the yoke I want to incorporate into my pullover. I had the pattern picked-out from a book before I realized that I had selected something very similar to Kate Davies’s sweater- obviously it was on my mind –  so it might be back to the drawing board.

And finally, I want to knit Ishbel! I’ve got the pattern and I’ve picked the prettiest yarn. It won’t keep me warm, but I think the very woolly winter I’m planning would benefit from something light and summer-y.

I think that’s an ample but do-able list of knitting goals: five months to knit my first socks, a cable sweater, a pretty lace shawl, and to try some colorwork. I will be eating my words come December, but I can’t wait to see how much I do accomplish!

1 Fun with hyphens!!

