Despite my best efforts to avoid walking into the land of temptation of the LYS, I needed point protectors for my needles desperately, and couldn’t find them anywhere but John Lewis. I resisted the temptation to buy 15 skeins of Debbie Bliss bamboo DK at a fantastic price, but did walk away with a longing for the new Rowan Book, Midwest Modern Knits by Amy Butler.

I don’t sew except for the occasional patch onto a bag, so I’m not familiar with her fabric line; therefore the ‘ooohs’ and ‘aaahs’ and general fanning by my knitting colleagues was lost on me. I’m still not fussed by her fabrics (sewing is just another addiction, and I don’t need anymore) but I looooooove her knits. The pillows! The pretzel scarf! The rolled neck knit dress! The only thing I don’t like is the ridiculous price-tag to her yarn. Still, she’ll get my £10, because I can just about decorate my entire flat with those designs. Minus the drawstring poufs – what sort of nonsense is that?

