On Saturday, I went to check out Wool-tastic at the National Museum of Scotland. The event was part of the Edinburgh International Fashion Festival.

The entrance court to the museum was transformed into a knitting oasis, covered in new and experienced knitters. Some were learning to finger knit, others were creating pompoms, and I decided to take a crack at the pattern for a little bunny.

My bunny is to the left, and my friend Amy‘s rabbit sits to the right. She at least had the decency to give hers a face and a tail! I struggled for awhile with shaping the head, and after adding ears, decided I would rather get back to my sock than sew on eyes.

I love this knitted needle-holder!

Edinburgh is a great city, and us natives are spoiled that an entire theatre, music, art, and comedy fesitval comes to invade our landscape each August. Having an unexpected knitting event is an added bonus! It makes braving the massive crowds in the city centre worth the while.

Knitters knitting

Oh – and I got to bump into my friend Kristen, who helped to organize the event! Well done :)

