I’ve never joined a KAL before, but I’ve spotted one on Ravelry that sounds incredibly fun. I have a few skeins of sock yarn that are cheerfully variegated and would really show off an unusual pattern – or, as the KAL describes it, “unusual sockitecture.” Despite my constant perusal of the pattern database, there are is a stunning collection of sock patterns with unconventional construction that I had never seen before. A few favorites include:


Stripe Tease Socks (though they really shine with the Zauerball)


Jazz Dance


Vertizontal (my favorite, and with the best name as well)

I’ve been meaning to try Skew and I liked the look of Achilles Heal as well. I think, unless I got crazy and cast-on a million projects beforehand, I will have to join in with whatever sock they choose for this KAL – and plan on trying a few of the other proposed patterns as well.

